"[...] is already positioning itself as the upcoming top piano trio."

GÖTTINGER DAILY SHEET

"Analytical and creative clarity with a thoroughly youthful urge"

 

FRANKFURTER ALLGEMEINE ZEITUNG

 

In spring 2012 Julius Asal founded the ARCON TRIO together with the brothers Janis and David Marquard.  

The following year the ensemble made its debut, which was highly acclaimed by the press, with works by Beethoven, Schumann, Rachmaninov and Shostakovich.

Since then, the ARCON TRIO has appeared with ambitious concept programs such as the performance of the piano trio cycle by Johannes Brahms and has consistently positioned itself as “the coming  Top piano trio ”, as the Göttinger Tageblatt put it.  

The three young musicians also pay special attention to the chamber music literature of the 20th and 21st centuries. In addition to relatively popular repertoire such as the piano trios by Dmitri Shostakovich and Aaron Copland, they are always exploring new territory. For example, the trio played the German premiere of Raffaele Bellafronte's piano trio “Solaessenza” in the halls of the Ensemble Modern. In addition, the ARCON TRIO played the world premiere of Holmer Becker's "Toccata for Piano Trio" in Poland (October 2019).

 

In the past, the ARCON TRIO was a guest of well-known organizers and concert halls  (including Musikverein Wien, Rheingau Musik Festival, Chamber Music Concerts Pruszków, MuseumsSalon Frankfurt, Kultursommer Südhessen) and gained international attention in 2018 when it received 2nd prize and two special prizes at the prestigious Brahms Competition in Austria, after being awarded the best Interpretation of a classical work had reached the finale. The trio had previously appeared as the youngest participating ensemble at the Chamber Music Prize of the Polytechnic Society, where it was awarded the sponsorship prize.  

 

Was artistically significant for  the ARCON TRIO the encounter and intensive collaboration with Eberhard Feltz, Thomas Hoppe (ATOS Trio), Angelika  Merkle , Dimiter Ivanov, Jan I ckert,  Eldar  Nebolsin, Ulf Wallin and that  Fauré Quartet.

A R C O N   T R I O 

DAVID MARQUARDVIOLINE 

JANIS MARQUARDCELLO 

JULIUS ASALKLAVIER 

"[...] positioniert sich bereits als kommendes Spitzen-Klaviertrio."

GÖTTINGER TAGEBLATT

"Analytisch-gestalterische Klarheit mit durchaus jugendlichem Drang"

 

FRANKFURTER ALLGEMEINE ZEITUNG

 

Im Frühjahr 2012 gründete Julius Asal gemeinsam mit den Brüdern Janis und David Marquard das ARCON TRIO. 

Im darauffolgenden Jahr gab das Ensemble sein von der Presse hoch gelobtes Debüt mit Werken von Beethoven, Schumann, Rachmaninov und Shostakovich.

Seither tritt das ARCON TRIO mit ambitionierten Konzept-Programmen wie der Aufführung des Klaviertriozyklus’ von Johannes Brahms in Erscheinung und positioniert sich konstant als „kommendes Spitzen-Klaviertrio“, wie es das Göttinger Tageblatt formulierte. 

Ein besonderes Augenmerk legen die drei jungen Musiker darüberhinaus auf die Kammermusikliteratur des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts. Neben verhältnismäßig populärem Repertoire wie den Klaviertrios von Dmitri Shostakovich und Aaron Copland erkunden sie auch stets Neuland. So spielte das Trio etwa die deutsche Erstaufführung von Raffaele Bellafrontes Klaviertrio „Solaessenza“ in den Hallen des Ensemble Modern. Darüber hinaus spielte das ARCON TRIO die Uraufführung von Holmer Beckers "Toccata für Klaviertrio" in Polen (Oktober 2019).

 

Das ARCON TRIO war in der Vergangenheit Gast namenhafter Veranstalter und Konzerthäuser (darunter Musikverein Wien, Rheingau Musik Festival, Chamber Music Concerts Pruszków, MuseumsSalon Frankfurt, Kultursommer Südhessen) und erlangte 2018 internationale Aufmerksamkeit, als es beim prestigeträchtigen Brahms-Wettbewerb in Österreich den 2. Preis sowie zwei Sonderpreise verliehen bekam, nachdem es mit der besten Interpretation eines klassischen Werkes das Finale erreicht hatte. Bereits zuvor trat das Trio als jüngstes teilnehmendes Ensemble beim Kammermusikpreis der Polytechnischen Gesellschaft in Erscheinung, wo es mit dem Förderpreis ausgezeichnet wurde. 

 

Künstlerisch bedeutend waren für das ARCON TRIO die Begegnung und intensive Zusammenarbeit mit Eberhard Feltz, Thomas Hoppe (ATOS Trio), Angelika Merkle, Dimiter Ivanov, Jan Ickert, Eldar Nebolsin, Ulf Wallin und dem Fauré Quartett. 

 

© Julius Asal, 2020